Wedding Stationery

 

Ideas    |    Choice   |    Processes   |    Practitioners   |    Documentation   |    Evaluation

(Skip to a specific section using the above links)

 



 

Browsing for ideas

Back to Top

 
Ask my friends or family, stationery has always been something I’ve loved since I was a child. It’s even got to the point where I have even had to self ban myself from retailers like Paperchase, just so I can save myself from spending ridiculous amounts of money. That’s why when one of my best friends got engaged and started planning her wedding, this idea came to me. By contributing using my designs for her wedding stationery excites me on a weird and crazy level. Even if she doesn’t use my final designs, I felt it an appropriate stepping stone for my future freelance career in illustration.


Above is a few examples of wedding invitations and other items regarding the same subject matter. These are examples that have inspired me and I will strive to make designs as good as these for my final design.

To begin I’ve had a look at a huge variety of wedding stationers such as:

Strawberry Sorbet
Vistaprint
Norma & Dorothy
Adorn Invitations
Not on the high street
Cardlab Letterpress Co.
Printed
Emmy Designs
Rock My Wedding

Whilst researching these websites, I came across ‘Paperfest‘, a small festival dedicated to… paper! Or stationery/designers to be more precise. Although it may not be pertinent to this project it’s something to prospectively look at for the future.



 

Choice

Back to Top

For my choice of wedding stationery to complete, I have decided to focus on wedding invitations, RSVP cards, envelope liners, belly bands and stickers, these have been discussed with the bride. I would like my design to be easily adaptable for any of the following other elements too:

RSVP Cards
Belly Bands
Envelope Liners
Save the Date
Order of Service
Table Plans
Table Names
Menus
Place Cards
Thank You Cards

Below is a short slideshow showing these different elements:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some further considerations for my design, that had to be liaised with the bride and groom:

Size
Colours
Layout
Material
Fonts
Wording
Font tests

I decided to do a few testers of my own to see what the happy couple would like best and then progress from there. I was really happy with these test images (shown in sketchbook) as it showed my ability to mock up some visually pleasing designs. This gave me confidence in myself to be able to make designs that the future bride and groom would be happy with. It also gave the bride and groom the opportunity to select what format, fonts and wording they liked the best.

(I also created these font-tests to present to my friends to see what they liked best.)

Once I got word from the happy couple what colours and themes they were going with for their wedding, I decided to look in to them to create invitations that would match. The main ideas for their wedding will involve the colour lilac and lace. Therefore, I would like to create my own personalised lace design for the invitations etc. To give me some hiunts and tips of how to do this I watched a few youtube videos:



 

Processes

Back to Top

How to design wedding stationery
I also had a look at this very helpful link about designing wedding stationery. This has already come in handy as it has given me solid ideas about what paper to use (Tintoretto Gesso) and what format is popular (Postcard). It also gives a lot of hints and tips of what things to consider when mocking up your design.

Some further helpful instructions and tips I found on the following links:
How to make your own wedding invitations in 10 easy steps
Guide to making your own wedding invitations
Invitation Designer
DIY Wedding Invitations
Instructables: Make your own invites

Some helpful youtube tutorials:

I also found some more Watercolour background techniques on youtube to watch and I also gathered more information via My Pinterest about watercolours, techniques and images that inspire me.

This led me on to marble art, an interesting take on it using shaving foam:

This would be great technique for a possible background in the final colours of choice for my final designs. This video also listed some helpful information like what supplies to get to recreate this method:

Supplies:
• Tray (baking pan)
• Paper (thick, cardstock)
• Waxed paper
• Squeegee (or substitute)
• Shaving cream
• Stick object (tooth pick, paint brush tip)
• Paint (acrylic, food colour)

Tips:

• If you live near a dollar store, all the supplies (minus the paint) can be found there for cheap!
• Do not use shaving cream with gels or moisturizers, they will add extra ingredients you don’t want in your project.
• Try to remove all shaving cream from your project without smudging the paint.
• I found placing wet marbled projects outside in direct sunlight is the best way to completely dry them.
• Just about any type of paint can be used with this method.
• Place warped paper under heavy weights to flatten.
• Try a clear spray varnish to protect your artwork – Find on Amazon
• Want to try water marbling? Robert Mahar has a great tutorial – Youtube tutorial

Wedding Range to Print
From my previous project: greetings cards, I came across this brilliant website that prints your own designs. This will come in handy as they have illustrator templates to show what is acceptable for their printers. (This is also much cheaper than buying pre-designed wedding invitations). It also has a wide variety of choice when it comes to paper, paperweight, envelopes and much more. I have even ordered a sample kit of the different papers to test what seems best.



 

Practitioners

Back to Top

 
Jasmine Rebecca


Jasmine Rebecca’s beautiful designs are often hand crafted designs to begin with and tidied up digitally to create a more professional finish. This is what I intend to do with my own design. This also gave me inspiration for wording on the RSVP cards to do with presents for the wedding.

Emmy Designs


I love the simplicity of these designs, they are highly effective and beautiful to look at. I especially like the simple watercolour background with writing over the top. I would like to re-create this for my own invitation designs.

Lucy Ledger


These designs are lovely but I feel lack in impact like some of the other designers, this could be because of the use of colour is very pale in most of the designs. This is something I need to consider with my own designs, do I go with pale colours to fit in with the wedding theme, or more vibrant colours to stand out from other designs.

Abigail Warner


I think Warner’s designs are my favourite. They are eclectic and experimental with media and materials. This is perfect for customising individual weddings. I also love how clear and concise the designs are, with beautiful choices of colour. The typographical side of these designs really stands out and make the overall invitations etc even more interesting to look at. I would love it if my designs looked this good at the end. I also love how the designs have been photographed to create a maximum selling impact on future customers – fantastic!

Emily & Jo


These are stunning designs, which anyone can customise for themselves. These are fantastic templates with hundreds of different selections for layouts, fonts, colours and patterns. I love how some of these fonts are foiled, I would love to be able to foil some of my designs, as I feel this is highly effective – especially for weddings.

Norma & Dorothy


These are quite basic but beautiful bundles. The selection in most of these images is exactly how I wish my final wedding stationery to look like. I feel this will be exciting for friends and family to receive in the post regarding their loved ones’ wedding. This is exactly why I would like my designs to end up like these.

 



 

Documentation of working process

Back to Top

 


TEXT
 


Back to Top

Leave a Reply

