YCN – Quorn

Ideas | Choice | Processes | Practitioners | Documentation

(Skip to a specific section using the above links)

Browsing for ideas

Back to Top

This is one of my choices for the creative futures competition briefs. Instead of choosing one from YCN and one from D&AD, I have chosen two from YCN as I felt they would be more appropriate for me to do. The first brief I will be pursuing is the YCN -Quorn brief from the list of YCN choices – which can be found here. This is to create a campaign to promote World Meat Free Day and encourage people to go meat free for the day. The brief for the Quorn project can be found here.

I also had a look at the Deliverables Guidelines, to see the specifications and requirements of the brief, such as: The Call for Entries for this year’s programme launched on Monday 24th October 2016. The Deadline for Submissions is 11.59pm GMT on Thursday 23rd March 2017. All submissions are made digitally. The Awards Entry uploader will be live in January 2017.


Choice

Back to Top

Before I start the brief, first I want to look into Quorn and see what they’re all about. Therefore I went over their website thoroughly (click the Quorn logo below to go to the Quorn website).

quorn_logo

The Quorn Story
FAQ’s

I found the following information about Quorn, that I felt would be useful for my campaign:

WHAT IS QUORN?

Our range of versatile ingredients, meals and snacks are varied and delicious. Our products are quick to prepare for you and your family, they’re a great source of protein and many are low in fat.

HOW IS QUORN MADE?

Quorn’s main ingredient is Mycoprotein™, a nutritionally healthy protein source.
Mycoprotein™ is produced by a process of fermentation similar to that used for yeast in bread. Unlike other meat alternatives, there’s no strong aftertaste, and Quorn is great at absorbing the flavours used in cooking, making for great tasting meals.

WHAT IS MYCOPROTEIN?

Mycoprotein is the common ingredient in all Quorn products. It’s made from a member of the fungi family (the same family that morels and truffles belong to) and is a high-quality meat-free protein that’s low in fat, high in dietary fibre (important for your digestive system) and is a valuable source of amino acids. Our expert chefs really know how to get the best out of mycoprotein, allowing them to create our range of sausages and burgers as well as cooking ingredients like mince, strips and pieces.

WHAT ARE QUORN PRODUCTS?

Quorn products are made from Mycoprotein™. Mycoprotein™ is a nutritionally healthy protein source that is meat free and naturally low in saturated fat and high in fibre.

Quorn products have the taste, appearance and texture of meat, perfect if you want meat free meals or are thinking of creating healthier versions of your favourite everyday meals.

A GREAT TASTING RANGE

Quorn is perfect if you’re trying to eat healthier as part of an active lifestyle, watching your weight, or if you want some meat-free meal inspiration.

The following Quorn products contain absolutely no cholesterol: which makes them perfect for a heart friendly diet:

•Mince
•Pieces
•Meat-Style Balls
•Chicken-Style Burgers
•Garlic and Herb Fillets
•Fajita Strips (chilled)
•Mince (chilled)
•Pepper & Herb Sausages (chilled)
•Sweet Chilli Stir Fry Strips (chilled)
•BBQ Sausages (chilled)

Plus products like Quorn Mince are a great source of protein that still allow you to enjoy all your favourite meals.

SOURCE OF PROTEIN

Quorn products are a high quality vegetarian protein source. They have all the essential amino acids you find in meats like beef and chicken.
Zero cholesterol

LOW IN FAT

The following products are all low in fat:
•Mince
•Meat-Style Balls
•Mince (chilled)

QUICK AND TASTY

You can cook Quorn foods in your oven, grill or microwave, as you would do for meat and poultry. Plus there’s no need to defrost Quorn foods – you can cook them straight from frozen.

IS QUORN A SUSTAINABLE PRODUCT?

One of the main reasons Quorn foods were invented was to be part of the solution to the growing global population’s increasing demand for protein.
Livestock is a very inefficient source of protein which is why we believe eating Quorn products instead of meat can be a more sustainable option.
To see the developments in this area from a UK and global perspective, here is a link to the Carbon Footprint Summary 2015 that has been produced by Quorn Foods in the UK.

The below image will be highly beneficial for my campaign as it lists why Quorn is such a good alternative to meat:

1

Further information on how Quorn is better for you and the planet can be found on their website under Quorn sustainability. I have copied and pasted some of the information from there that I felt would be relevant to this project below:

BETTER FOR YOU & THE PLANET

Quorn products are made from Mycoprotein™. Mycoprotein™ is a nutritionally Healthy Protein that is Meat Free and naturally low in saturated fat and high in protein and fibre. Quorn products have the taste appearance and texture of meat, perfect for if you’re thinking about eating less meat or creating healthier versions of your favourite everyday meals.

Recommended by doctors, nutritionists and heart foundations all over the world.

A NOTE FROM QUORN’S CEO

At Quorn we have a simple mission, ‘to help consumers eat less meat’. Given the ethical, health and environmental benefits of Quorn foods, this places corporate responsibility at the heart of everything we do.

From farm to fork we’re dedicated to outstanding environmental performance.

Quorn is the first global meat-alternative brand to achieve third party certification of it’s carbon footprint figures. See Carbon Trust for more information.
The Carbon Trust’s mission is to accelerate the move to a sustainable, low carbon economy. We are independent experts on carbon reduction and resource efficiency, who reinvest surpluses from group commercial activities into our mission.

Other links I thought would be useful, maybe even to use as interactive points for consumers through my campaign:

Healthy Meal Ideas
Comfort Food Classics
Recipe Range
Quorn Vegan
Vegan Recipes


Back to Top

Now I know more about Quorn, I wanted to break the brief down because there is a lot of information in this brief. Therefore I used the D&AD how to break down a brief advice.

As this project is to create a campaign, I wanted to look at how to do this in more detail, I found the following website to be of use: create a campaign.

As the target is to get as many people as possible to go meat free for a day, I wanted to see how to encourage people to do this. The following links helped give me some advice:

Meat Free
Save environment – be veggie
Why be veggie?
Persuade others to go vegan
10 reasons to convince people to go meat free today
5 reasons to go meat-free now
Why go meat free?

Some reasons to go meat-free:

  • packed with antioxidants, healthy fats and way more vitamins and minerals
  • slimming
  • not as expensive as buying meat
  • increases longevity
  • Scorching summer temps in June and months-long droughts out west prove that global warming is real. Give the Earth a hug by going meat-free today. It takes 1,800 to 2,500 gallons of water to create a single pound of beef, versus 39 gallons of water to produce a pound of vegetables
  • can reduce the risks of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease and more

    Essentially you will be bettering your health, have a more optimistic credit card statement and help the planet.

    (Transition smoothly, from four legs to two legs to no legs.)

    Below is some further information I found regarding Quorn and its products, alongside the negatives for Quorn also to cover my bases:

    Global demands for meat
    WHO Nutrition
    What if the world went vegetarian BBC article
    Telegraph truth about Quorn
    World meat free day information
    World meat free day website

    To help me think of catchy slogans and to aid my campaign I also looked at the following websites:

    Quorn Rhyming words
    Creating a slogan
    Slogan generator, ‘meat-free’
    Slogan generator, ‘quorn’
    Slogans to help you quit smoking
    Meat puns
    Best food puns


    Processes

    Back to Top

    My idea is to create some interesting typographical (hand-lettered) quotes to either be placed onto merchandise or posters. Therefore I have looked into hand lettering tips and techniques and also fonts I like on Pinterest:

    Lettering Pinterest
    Font Pinterest
    Hand lettering tips
    5 Top Hand-Lettering Tips for Beginners

    Another one of my ideas was to use food as my media, I am not sure I will pursue this but I looked into it anyway, I found the following information and images to inspire me: Food Typography.

    As I might be interested in creating my final pieces on plates using my hand lettering I decided to look at this further to see if I would like to try it out.
    This website really inspired me, although I wasn’t too sure on having glass plates, I realised I had all the materials to do this: DIY Hand Lettered Plates. I also found this example which use ceramic paint pens to see how that might work Hand Lettered Special Occasion Plate.


    Practitioners

    Back to Top

    Prickly Poppy Blue


    Prickly Poppy Blue’s beautiful and quirky lettering is what has drawn me to her work. I also love the very simple illustrations that accompanies her words. I really like the idea of working on ceramics – like mugs. I think this is highly effective and something I would love to consider doing myself.

    Flowering Words


    Flowering Words is another lettering artist I admire, however, I feel that this artist is more skilled as they have photographed and decorated their work elegantly. This is something I will need to refine in my own working practice.

    Electric Eunice


    This calligrapher uses a mix of watercolour and digital lettering. She also uses a wide variety of different medias to create her work – all viable possibilities for my own final piece(s).

    Jess Park


    Jess Park’s work is very ‘clean’ and delicate to look at – this is showcased well by the plain backgrounds and skilled photos of her work. I will consider using simple backgrounds like this for my final piece(s).

    Jenna Rainey


    Rainey’s lettering is presented on lot of different materials, from wood to glass with embossing and laser cutting, which I think is fantastic and something I aspire to do! This out of the box thinking is highly inspiring for this project.

    Lindsay Shannon


    Shannon uses watercolours superbly to accompany her stunning fonts. I feel that watercolours used in these many different ways are inspiring too. I would like to test these out, if not for this project but for future projects.


    Documentation of working process

    Back to Top

    Below is the documentation of my process for creating my ‘campaign’ for going meat-free. The idea behind it is to give out free plates or bowls or any kind of crockery to inspire people to buy Quorn products. I figured writing inspiration on to plates would be a great way to re-inforce people’s memories of world meat-free day by seeing it often on their plates so that they will be more open to the idea when the day comes around. I’m really pleased with my plates and I think if photographed well they would make great posters for the campaign too with a way to plug Quorn’s website – for recipes and details how they can help to save the world for a day.


    Back to Top

  • Leave a Reply

    