Catalogue & Logo Design

Ideas    |    Choice   |    Processes   |    Practitioners   |    Documentation

(Skip to a specific section using the above links)

 



 

Browsing for ideas

Back to Top

For this project I have tasked myself with the creation of our end of year exhibition’s logo and catalogue design. I have also included work for designing my business cards, website and exhibition boards.

Logo

To begin with, I felt the logo design for the exhibition, catalogue and posters was the important aspect to pursue first. Therefore to help generate ideas for my design I looked at existing logos to help give me an idea of what I should be aiming for. Below are some images that shows what I have looked at:


I have also looked at more Logo designs on my pinterest, the link for this is
here. The further progression of my ideas are shown under the Choice heading.

Catalogue

When approaching how to create the catalogue, I thought I would look at existing designs to give me an idea of what I could do, some ideas are shown below:


Further ideas I found can be seen on my Pinterest. I also came across a helpful website that helped to generate even more ideas for my catalogue design/layouts: 40 exhibition catalogue ideas. Another one to help with layouts and inspiration was 25 Awesome Catalogue Designs.

Business Cards

As the catalogue was for our exhibition, I thought I would tie in the generation of my process for my business cards as they will be included in my exhibition. The process from creating my page in the catalogue followed very nicely into creating my business cards as they included the same things, minus my images and artistic statement. Therefore I had the foundations of what I needed but I also needed to research business cards specifically incase I missed anything important. To begin I looked at other peoples business cards:


I also compiled a board for business cards on my Pinterest as I found some very unique ideas.

Portfolio

As I was to create a portfolio for the exhibition, I wanted to have a look at how other designers had created theirs. This was highly inspiring, I understood that our portfolios needed to be A3 and put in plastic wallets, but these designs were inspiring for after university. Once I have created my own catalogue design, this will give me the confidence to create a more unique looking portfolio for the future. Some inspiring ideas are as follows:


I have gathered further interesting ideas on my Pinterest too.



 

Choice

Back to Top

Logo

As I felt it important to obtain the context behind the creation of a logo I looked into why logo’s are important and what their purpose is. Below details this:

The purpose of a Logo

The purpose of a logo is to give a visual representation of your company brand. Your logo design should be unique, give high impact, be eye-catchy and leave an unforgettable impression.
A successful logo design will be effective in conveying your brand message and image. Your logo design should serve the purpose of supporting your business Design Deptname and the products and services you provide.
Your logo design should promote your business and build brand identity. It is important to give the proper amount of thought into the design of your logo and should be designed by a professional graphic designer to ensure your logo is effective and high quality.

For my designs I used visual reference when creating my rough ideas, some of these can be shown below:

Catalogue

When researching catalogue design I found this incredibly helpful website that helped to explain the importance of including a catalogue for an exhibition. I have pasted this directly from the website so that I can easily refer back to it:

A catalogue is the proof that a show has taken place. Without printed and available documentation, people forget who and what was shown after the exhibit is over. In case of disaster (like fire or flood), the catalogue may be the only proof an official will accept about the artist’s level of professional achievement (think insurance). The fact that catalogues are held in many hands assures the survivability of the information.

Business Cards

To look at why business cards are so important, I looked at the following links:

The purpose of a business card
Business Cards: Purpose

They provided this description of why they are beneficial:
An interesting business card can tell people a little bit about a company’s products and services by its design. Inventive business cards stick in people’s heads, reminding them of the person when they are ready to do business. Because they are tangible pieces of paper, business cards can be passed from one person to another, which can give companies exposure to more than one client. People often keep business cards on them to promote themselves or their companies.

Website Design

To go over the benefits of having a website, I looked at the following website:
Top 10 reasons to have your own website which stated the following:

If you want to be taken seriously online, you need to have your own website. It is a tool that you can use to build-up a following, sell products, and earn a reputation…

A Website Can Turn You Into an Expert. It Can Demonstrate Your Passion to Potential Employers and Clients. You Can Use a Website to Showcase Your Talent. It Can Increase Your Employment Opportunities. You Can Launch a Business on a Shoestring. You Can Promote Your Business Products or Services Cheaply. You Can Develop Your Creativity with a Website. It is an Effective Way to Become More Knowledgeable. You Can Make a Small Business Appear Much Bigger.

I found this inspiring to create my own website as I realised what a website could do for me.

Portfolio

The following website showed the benefits of having a printed portfolio:

Graphic design print portfolio examples

You’ve already posted all of your graphic design work online, so who really needs a print portfolio, anyway? As a matter of fact, investing the time to create an outstanding printed portfolio can pay off in a big way—even if your work is strictly digital.

Unlike online portfolios, physical portfolios cannot be clicked away. Since they’re physical objects that take up space, clients can rediscover them even after putting them in storage (long after they’ve deleted your web portfolio from their bookmarks). The more care and effort you put into making your graphic design print portfolio look good, the harder it will be for clients to part with.

Exhibition

I found an interesting website that detailed the virtues of having an exhibition:

Exhibition Virtues

Art is a form of communication. You might think you make art as a form of self-expression, but you know that your work is incomplete until people see it and respond to it. You understand the synergy that erupts when you are in a room full of people looking at and talking about your art.

Nothing in the artist’s experience compares.

Exhibiting your art provides a space and a time frame for people to appreciate the true colors, lines, textures, patterns, and scale. Art takes on richness in this environment that it doesn’t have when it’s sitting in your studio.

Perhaps more importantly, exhibiting your art allows you to have a dialogue with people about the work. You can’t help but learn and grow from these experiences.
 



 

Processes & techniques

Back to Top

Logo

To aid my process, I looked into how to create my own logo design, the following links proved highly beneficial:

Logo Design
How to design a logo
Logo Templates
How to price your logo
The importance of sketching
Use strong typography
Logo Design with Draplin
Logo Design Tutorial
Logo Design
How to create a vintage logo with illustrator
Logo Presentation Tutorial
Step by step Logo Tutorial

Catalogue

Below is some helpful advice I found to aid my process when creating the catalogue:

Brochure Design
How to design a catalogue
Catalogue templates
Design a successful catalogue
Rules of good catalogue design


This video shows design layout examples created by Palmiero catalogue designers.

To progress further with my design I looked at what else to include for exhibition catalogues, this website detailed the following information which enabled me to think better about my involvement in the catalogue as well as design issues:

About Artist’s Statements:
Take the time, make the effort, to write an effective artist’s statement. The artist statement cannot be understated or underestimated. A clear, concise, well-written artist statement is essential. It can move the artist’s work from being just another pretty piece to a more scholarly level.

You will need:
• Photoshop and /or another program that can be used to create each and every page.
• Think about the type of binding you need to keep the catalogue together.

Intense work and editing is needed:
• First all images must be taken (300 dpi recommended)
• Statements must be written and edited
• Pages designed
• Pages printed
• Pages collated
• Pages and cover put together and bound

Other notes on catalogues:
As a curator and having produced many catalogues, I would like to stress the importance of:
• good quality images of one’s artwork;
• making sure the information given for the work is accurate.
• Artists often write pages of nonsense (“artspeak”) unrelated to the work shown.
• Grammar, spelling, and sentence structure must be checked by an experienced editor.
• People often want more catalogues than were ordered and printed.
• Paper for printing the catalogue is expensive because it should be heavy paper that does not bleed and that takes ink well.
• Count your pages, then decide whether you will print on one side or two (two-sided requires heavier paper but half as many sheets).
• Multiply by the number of catalogues to be produced in order to determine your materials cost.

This information inspired me to look closer at writing artist statements:

How to write an Artist’s Statement
8 Examples of Artist statements
How to write a statement that doesn’t suck

Printing:
How to mock up into a printable document
This was a fantastic PDF that explained how to prepare my files for printing, I should have looked at this sooner, but unfortunately I didn’t find it until I was ready to print. It also gave me some top tips on things to avoid such as ‘creep’: “If you’re using a paper weight over 120gsm or have anything over 12 pages (including your cover and
blank pages), you’ll need to allow for creep in your document. The more pages you have and the
heavier the paper, the more creep you will have on your document.

Before setting on one place to print I checked a few places to see what they offered and how much printing would cost. I had my heart set on printing at university, but when going back once ready to print they changed their quote which was double what they had originally told me. Therefore I settled on a company I had used several times before and knew the quality would be perfect. This quality was much better then what the university had to offer too which was a bonus.

Below are the links I used to gather my quotes:

Printed
Scribes Hull
Digital Printing
Aura Print

Business Cards

Moo
Vista Print
Printed
Instant Print

There are a lot of different options when coming to print your business cards, each website had something new to offer. I ended up deciding on going with printed.com as that was where I was printing the catalogue with so it made sense. They also offered foiling my design which was something I couldn’t not use.

Website Design

As the inclusion of my website was important to include on my catalogue page and business cards, I needed to create my own domain name to ensure that no-one else would use it in the future. Therefore I looked into where to buy a domain name from and where to host my website.

Website Host list:
10 best web hosts
Wix
WordPress
Freewebs

I decided to go with wix originally as they created some really professional looking websites, however after I had brought my domain name through them I realised they would be more expensive than other websites I had seen. Therefore I ended up using wordpress as my host as I am familiar with using it and it was much more affordable for me. This was a pain as meshing a domain name from one site and using another host proved very difficult to organise and merge the two. In future I would use other websites or just the one to make things much simpler for myself.

Portfolio

To put together my portfolio was very different to the following links but they inspired what I could do in the future:

How to build a killer portfolio
Paper Portfolios
Design School: Portfolio
Create a perfect design portfolio

Exhibition

To help with my process of putting together what to exhibit, I had a look at the following website to help inform my decisions:

Innovative audience engagement techniques
21 clever exhibition ideas
How to set up an art exhibition



 

Practitioners

Back to Top

 
Matt Roff



Matt Roff’s stunning illustrations have been used for a variety of different audiences. One of which for his fans he has created a booklet to showcase his illustrations called “Heads, Faces and other Weirdos”. His careful consideration of type has influenced me to think carefully about what fonts I will use in my catalogue design.

Réka Neszmélyi


Réka Neszmélyi’s stunningly simple layouts for brochures and catalgues has reinforced how simplicity shouldn’t be under appreciated and I will try to remember this when creating my catalogue.

Marta Gawin


Again Gawin’s designs for brochures are very simple but effective. Her careful consideration of colour has inspired my decision for what colours I would use in the catalogue, also reminding me that 2 colours can be plenty as simple works best.

Ingus Eisaks


Eisaks’ logo designs are very simple but carefully thought through. Using illustrations above effective typography.

Alexandr Bukin


Bukin has used typography in a very effective way showcasing what each company is about within the lettering. I coud do something like this for my logo design.

Captain Rex


Rex’s designs are also very simple like Eisaks, yet Rex does not use typography, just very simple illustrations that reflect their companies perfectly. This simplicity is something I wish to test with my logo design.
 



 

Documentation of working process

Back to Top

 

Logo:


The above shows my process of testing out different colours that I felt would be suitable for the overall design. A lot of these images show only slight changes, I found by testing these minor differences made major differences to the overall image. It was a very lengthy process and I found I had several favourite options, therefore I asked a few of my friends opinions. This also shows part of my collaboration with Michael regarding the show poster, this shows where I thought the logo could look good with his poster design. I’m really pleased with the final result.

Catalogue:

(In order of appearance)
Pattern


The above shows my process of creating the pattern for the insert pages, as I felt this would be better than having a blank page. The pattern is made up of individual aspects found within the logo. Since completing this I have discovered a better way of creating patterns in illustrator which I wish I had known before mocking this up.

Contents
Tutors introduction
About
Grace Davies-Dickinson
Mark Dinsdale